The calling

20150223
Photo by:Maria Velazco

“Let yourself be silently drawn by the strange pull of what you really love. It will not lead you astray”.-Rumi

Following my calling has been quite the adventure.  I’ve learned a lot from the people I’ve found along the path and I’ve also learned about myself and my capacity to get back on track in spite of getting lost. Some lessons have been more difficult than others, yet my heart has not allowed me to stray too far. I’ve learned how to ask for guidance when I’ve gotten lost or fallen and I’ve also learned how to be honest with myself and not pretend to be something that I am not. One by one the pieces are coming together as I start to see the whole picture, my reason for being on earth. It has not been easy, nothing worth doing is, but I refuse to do anything else but follow my calling. Contemplating on this I think of great leaders such as the Dalai Lama, Dr Martin Luther King Jr, Amma and such. Who would they be if they chose to listen to the opinions of others and doubt whether or not what they were doing was right? What if they chose to follow a path simply because it is what everyone else thought it was best for them? They simply would not be who they are, a divine reflection of the perfection that God made. I think it takes courage to do what they did, to continue to trek the path of their calling in spite of the naysayers. I know I still have quite a way to go, but I’m ok with it, I’m learning how to not be too attached and let go, in the end it is God who I must face.  I will cut ties with whatever or whomever I must in order to please my divine creator.

7 thoughts on “The calling

  1. Wonderful article. I am already in love with your blog and what you do. 🙂

    Did you take this picture? I love this and I have not seen a better picture in many days. 🙂

    I wish you very best in blogging and spiritual journey Maria 🙂

    Sincerely,
    Anand

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, I’m the photographer of this one. It was one of those moments that felt right, I just closed my eyes and snapped the picture, it turned out better than what I imagined it would 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s just remarkable 🙂 If we stay friends in blogging university–I would like to borrow this picture to use in one of my posts–with due credit to you. Someday–if you feel like doing it. It’s truly one of the best pictures I have ever seen. 🙂

        Thanks,
        Anand

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I particularly loved your words about the peices coming together that allows you to see the whole picture. It takes a lot of time to master the art of seeing your daily activities and aspirations as a whole, with thousands of tiny pieces. And when all of these pieces of the puzzle are in harmony then you understand your calling clearly. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

