Facing fear

dragon slayer“You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I have lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.’ You must do the thing you think you cannot do.”
–Eleanor Roosevelt

Fear is like a machine that drives people to do things that, being in a peaceful state of mind, would otherwise not do. Yet fear is an illusion, it is the distortion of truth, because when are actually faced with reality, we see all of our ‘what ifs’ dissolved in the face of truth.

Some of my best life decisions have been made in the face of fear, of the unknown. I have found great friends and experiences of growth through having faced the unknown. Little by little I have found confidence in being able to overcome whatever obstacle I face, especially when I reflect on the hardships that I encountered as a child. The things I’ve had to overcome in adult life seem miniscule compared to the demons that I had to constantly face as a kid. Yet I sometimes find myself still doubting my ability to do something. Letting go and letting God has been a lesson that I’ve had to learn to embrace in the face of fear. But I feel myself growing one challenge at a time, I win some, I lose some, but I get back up and try again.

My motivation to face fear typically comes from my desire to give back to the community, when I feel as though I have the ability to improve the lives of others, I make a decision to do something about it and follow it through. And sometimes there are sacrifices that I make on my part, but I know that that’s what comes with the ground that I must cover, I do it for love. In the service of God I am willing to make sacrifices for the greater good of all.

3 thoughts on “Facing fear

Leave a Reply

