Serve the community

hands-769649_640

“Everyone can be great because anyone can serve. You don’t have to have a college degree to serve. You don’t even have to make your subject and and your verb agree to serve… You only need a heart full of grace. A soul generated by love.” — Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr

Serving the community is one of the greatest gifts you can give to future generations, in some ways, it is a timeless gift. I think of the trees that are planted by members of the community which grow year after year, purifying the air we breathe, providing shelter from the sun and a new home for the birds. I also think of the the neighborhood watch who look out to ensure that safety is maintained among all residents, and of the playgrounds which are built in low income neighborhoods to help ensure a brighter future for children. Furthermore there are great community leaders such as Cesar Chavez who leave a legacy for others to follow.

Serving the community is a great way to realize that we are not alone on this journey in life, and that there are others who may also be living with the same challenges, we can help one another build happier, prosperous lives, all you need to do is say ‘yes’ when someone seeks a helping hand. Go out into your community and find something that calls your heart and help, you will be amazed at how much you can do for others and at the same time how much you yourself can grow.

I’ve served several non-profit organizations and can say by experience that my life is so much richer by the experiences that I have had with them. I’ve made friendships with amazing people and have met great leaders as well. My people skills have become richer and my leadership skills improved. The joy that I feel in my heart by helping others is incomparable to any other joy because it is done with love. When I first began doing volunteer work I thought that my gift of time was a one-way street, but unbeknownst to me, I would eventually receive gifts I did not expect. Apparently it is part of the law of the universe that when something goes out something else must come back, a give and take of energy that keeps everything in harmony.

People helping people, it’s that simple, that’s what community service is all about.

5 thoughts on “Serve the community

  1. Reblogged this on kameamoonmaiden and commented:
    This is so important! I’m thinking of ways to bring more community into the low income apartment complex I live in. For starters, I am going to have a Mommy and me yoga class on Saturdays. Also, my 5-yr-old granddaughter and I are making fairy and gnome dwellings at the trunks of our Ponderosa Pine trees, of which there are many here.

    We would love to get a community garden going. Activities for kids like art, foraging and nature walks. Story telling and reading and writing poetry.

    Community pot luck nights with local musicians. The list goes on and on.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Thank you, I’m looking forward to it. Not a certified instructor, but can lead for an hour, especially for free. I led short kundalini yoga sessions in massage school.

        Yoga is great! It’s helping me so much right now, saving my life actually.

        Om shanti.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

