I found Liberty

6-22 to 6-29 (51)

“Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.”- Martin Luther King, Jr.

New York, this used to be a place that I would dream about visiting one day, I heard people talk about New York all the time and would imagine what it would be like to actually go there. All of this became a reality this year when I took a leap of faith and just did it, I went online and booked my flight with a discount from a gift card which I had won months earlier. My trip to New York was significant because there, I learned how to not cringe whenever I would see the cost of a product that in California would cost half as much, I learned how to let go and not be attached to money. I trusted that it would flow back to me. I invested a lot of money in that trip, it was a test of my faith to be there, faith that God wanted me there and that God would provide. A lot of things fell in place and were in synchrony while I was out there, at the retreat center I stayed at they had an entire library of books from an author whose book I had encountered a year earlier, coincidence? I don’t think so. In my thoughts I had also conjured up the idea that I could find a couch where I could crash, it almost seemed like I wasn’t going to find one until a friend I was going to meet up with out there contacted her friends and one of them offered their couch, this is something I feel I attracted by divine faith. This was also the first time that I would be traveling alone, I was hesitant to go but I did, I chose a life experience over fear. Ironically what I realized is that I wasn’t alone, there were people all around me willing to help, and in New York City, this is literally true!

In spite of the fact that I got lost more often than not and was a bit overwhelmed by all the busyness of New York, when I got back home and was able to see it from afar, there is something to New York which I appreciate, it has a certain kind of energy which just keeps you going. One thing is for sure, each city, each place, has its own energy, this is something I learned from going to the big apple. Thank you New York, I found my liberty there.

5 thoughts on “I found Liberty

  1. ‘…each city, each place, has its own energy’

    That’s so true. New York was the first place I ever visited in America and it will always have a place in my heart. I hope your post will encourage others to choose ‘a life experience over fear’.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

