The benefits of stress

stress

“You must learn to let go. Release the stress. You were never in control anyway.”- Steve Maraboli

There are no benefits to stressing out, there are no benefits to worrying, this might sound strange but this has been my experience. There has never been a time when worrying about something has changed the outcome, it hasn’t. What it has done is put stress on my body and made my thinking cloudy, it basically worsened the situation. Stressing out and worrying did not help.

What has helped is breathing, just taking a step back and breathing, I imagine all the things that could possibly happen and accept them. I tell myself that I have overcome so much adversity in the past that anything else that is thrown at me I am able to handle.

Something happened last Wednesday where in the last minute I had to fill in the role of president for a club I’m part of, my first reaction was based on fear, but then I took a step back and said to myself, “If this is happening it is because God believes that I am ready for it, I can do it, it’s nothing, it’s done and over.” This gave me the confidence that I needed in order to step in front of everyone at the meeting and lead; I was a little nervous but not enough that it impeded me from enjoying myself and feeling confident. I grew from that experience and am grateful.

Sometimes the mind likes to play tricks on us and give us a thousand stories of what might happen, but in reality, none of it is true, it’s false. This is why worrying is such a waste of energy, it is so disempowering, not only that but it is also a side effect of always trying to be in control of the situation, just LET IT GO! Have confidence in you, in life/god/universe that all that is meant to be will be, and that all that is is how it should be. Do your best to break this life-limiting habit, develop awareness of it and little by little you will be rid of worry, your confidence will boost, and freedom will be yours!

Try to remember this prayer next time your mind wants to worry:

“God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time;
enjoying one moment at a time;
accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
taking, as He did, this sinful world
as it is, not as I would have it;
trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His Will;
that I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with Him
forever in the next. ” -Reinhold Niebuhr

Leave a Reply

