Friends

Photo by: http://viansaimages.tumblr.com/
Photo by: Viansa Images

“Friendship… is not something you learn in school. But if you haven’t learned the meaning of friendship, you really haven’t learned anything.”-Muhammad Ali

It is through friendships that I have been able to bloom into a better version of me. Some of these people I met through acquaintances, others through friends, and the rest at social gatherings. There was a point in my life where I did not have any friends; I grew up very isolated because my mother feared the world so she wouldn’t let anyone near our home. Learning how to have friends and what they mean in life has been quite the experience, full of ups and downs. I made friends with all sorts of people, people who I once thought were like the ‘cool’ kids in high school, but I then realized I was nothing like them and that they were starting to bring me down the wrong path. Then there were the people who were very kind, and caring, yet their spiritual beliefs were so far from mine, I thought for sure I had made a great match, but I was just lying to myself, trying to fit in too hard and not being me. I learned a lot from these people, I wish them well, but my time with them was temporary.

I eventually surrendered to myself and to who I truly was. I connected with a few souls who I had met along the path, but left behind. I realized I had what I needed all along but just strayed thinking that the grass was greener on the other side, boy was I wrong. I learned my lesson.

This all seems like madness but that’s what it took for me to see my path and the people who I would walk with. I had to overcome the lies I was telling myself and my desperate yearning to fit in. I learned about sharing, opening up and being honest. I also learned about boundaries and that it was ok to set them, that it was ok to be fully me and not fear losing a friend over honoring myself and my values.

My search is over and I am walking my path, I am heading straight toward my goals with a couple of people by my side who share similar experiences, who also believe in something greater than themselves. They are my spiritual family, though we are all connected with one another, the frequency that I share with them is higher and so our paths have mutually intertwined by the law of energy. Together we are supporting one another along our spiritual path and building a better tomorrow.

If you have a hard time making connections, just know that you are not alone and that there are people out there with good intentions who will welcome you as a friend. But first, you must learn to honor yourself, to be genuinely you to attract these people into your life. Come from a place of love and you will attract friends like a fragrant flower attracts honey bees. Be open, be free, be.

Leave a Reply

