Love for everyone

circle

“We have flown the air like birds and swum the sea like fishes, but have yet to learn the simple act of walking the earth like brothers.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

I love people, I always have, I always will, it is who I am. I find it challenging to be who I am in this world sometimes, mostly because love and kindness have been sexualized and misinterpreted. Love is sold in a box with strings attached, and this is the problem, I don’t see love as something you posses. I see love as free and flowing like the river, pure and simple.

I saw a male acquaintance one day, and just like with my female friends I was happy to see him and gave him a hug. There was nothing sexual on my part; however he mistook the hug and thought of it as a come on. This was so far from the truth. Situations like this are what make it challenging to just be freely me, I feel like I have to hold back so as not to send the wrong message. I just love, no strings attached, I don’t care for titles like brother, sister, cousin, etc., I love all humans regardless. So as not to discriminate, women have also mistaken my kindness for something that it isn’t.

I would really like to reform love from what society has made it out to be- just something shared between sexual partners- to something all humans engage in as a matter of brotherly and sisterly love, as a single species on earth, nothing sexual. One love, one heart, that’s it, no strings attached. Let love flow and let it go, love is free!

2 thoughts on “Love for everyone

Leave a Reply

