What stops you from achieving your dreams?

Daydreaming_(1)

“Keep your dreams alive. Understand to achieve anything requires faith and belief in yourself, vision, hard work, determination, and dedication. Remember all things are possible for those who believe.”-Gail Devers

I engaged a kind soul sitting next to me during yoga class today in a conversation, I saw her writing in a journal, I asked her if she was a writer, she replied somewhere along the lines of ‘no, not really.’ I then asked her why, she said because she didn’t have anyone she was writing for; she just wrote as a form of therapy. I pointed out to her that that was good enough, that her writing was serving her well being and that that was great. I also told her that I got my degree in Journalism and that I too was a writer, she said she wished she had her degree in Journalism instead so that she could write, I then explained to her that it was not necessary to have a degree to write, that I had seen several blogs by people without degrees and with grammatical errors that had a good following simply because the gist of their writing was good.

Throughout my conversation with this young lady I slowly helped dissolve her mental blocks regarding reasons why she could not do what to me appeared to be something she loved. At the end of the conversation she thanked me for introducing myself to her and said she really needed to hear what I had to say.

This made me think of the many people who stop themselves short of achieving their dreams, of fulfilling their hearts desire, their calling. I myself used to be very much like these people, and am slowly coming out of the illusions, excuses, etc. that stopped me from walking my path and sharing the gift that I have been given with the world. One book that really helped was by Dr. Wayne Dyer called Excuses Begone it helped me see all the ways in which I was being an obstacle to my own dreams, and that’s the truth. We have all the power we need in order to carry out the dreams which the creator has planted within our hearts, God made no mistake in his/her creation, we were made perfect for whatever journey we were sent to do here on earth, all we have to do is get out of the way and let the light shine through us.

The mind is an amazing powerful thing, once we learn how to use it, there are no limits to what we can achieve, God willing. Look for stories of people doing things that they weren’t ‘suppose’ to do because of some kind of handicap, accident, or limitation that society placed on them, they overcome these things because they broke through the mental barrier of ‘no, not possible’ and created their own dream, their own success and thus created a higher standard and raised the bar of what was once thought to be impossible.

So I pose the question, what’s stopping you from achieving your dream?

5 thoughts on “What stops you from achieving your dreams?

  1. This is so true. Everyone has something to do and they come equipped with at least a seed of that ability. They must discover and develop whatever that interest is. I’m not discounting that that might take lots of work, but it will probably be very satisfying. I see that you are now filling me. Welcome to my space. I have been enjoying yours.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

