Coming out

s.jpg

““You can recognize survivors of abuse by their courage. When silence is so very inviting, they step forward and share their truth so others know they aren’t alone.”-Jeanne Mc Elvaney

I experienced sexual abuse as a child; it was a secret that I kept my entire life until yesterday. I let my friends and family know what happened. It was weighing heavily on my soul, on my life, I tried to find ways to heal but nothing seemed to work, revealing the secret was the only thing that made sense. I felt a surge of emotions run through me after letting it go. I know this is just one part of the healing process, I’m taking it a step at a time, but the most challenging part is over-coming out and letting go.

My friends and family have been supportive of me; one thing that I did not expect was to find out that I was not the only one in the family who also experienced this type of abuse from the same person. It saddened me to find that out and made me think of all the other girls that that man must have hurt. I know the pain, the depression, all of it, it is something that eats at your entire life and affects it like if it were cancer. There are things that I catch myself doing as a result of that traumatic experience, I grew up with a natural fear of men, I did things because I feared being sexually assaulted so I took things in my hands instead of allowing the natural flow of life to happen and created these fear based situations in my life that did me more harm than good, all because of that experience. The extent of what happens to someone that goes through abuse are written in volumes of books, so I will suffice to say that I’ve experienced most of what is written.

I am ready to move on in my life, all I’ve ever sought was my freedom; I know that I am much closer to it now. I am grateful for my life and to have the opportunity to be here, to do what it is that I was sent on earth to do, I thank you.

2 thoughts on “Coming out

  1. May I simply say….I am proud of you. You showed great bravery yesterday. You took back your life yesterday. I will be praying that each day is a New day for you. A New skin for you… having shed the old one. Trust me…You will now Shine. Warm hugs & blessings!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

