Labels

label

“Once you label me you negate me.”- Soren Kierkegaard

Labels are good for medical, scientific, and scholastic research among others. However in our day to day lives, labels have a tendency of separating us from one another. It creates this ‘us against them’ type of mentality and heightens our sense of self importance which in turn feeds the ego which is all about ‘me, me, me.’

Even simple labels that seem harmless such as ‘my’ or ‘mine’ create separation, and worse yet, a sense of attachment. When in reality nothing on this earth is ours, and everything is connected. The only thing we take at the end of our life is the experience of having played a role on earth as ‘Suzy’ or ‘Juan,’ it is the experience that many live for, the experience of euphoria after tasting a delectable chocolate, the experience of driving a fancy car. This is what people really want when they say they want money, they want the feeling of ‘having’ XYZ or visiting XYZ.

When I refer to the car that I’m paying for, I try not to use the word ‘my’ when referring to it, I usually say ‘the car’ so as not to become attached to something material. I do my best to be mindful of the language that I use, words have power, check out Dr. Masaru Emoto’s research on the effect words have on water.

Labels aren’t necessarily ‘wrong’ so long as we see the underlying essence in everything. I appreciate the uniqueness that each variety of color presents in my life, but I do not allow it to cloud my vision and see that it all comes from one source, and that in the divine one’s eye, it is all beautiful.

Leave a Reply

