Mother Nature

hik

“You carry Mother Earth within you. She is not outside of you. Mother Earth is not just your environment. In that insight of inter-being, it is possible to have real communication with the Earth, which is the highest form of prayer.”-Thich Nhat Hanh

“Do it from your heart”, this is a phrase I would often hear, but did not understand, I could not grasp its reality, my mind did not accept it. Coming from a childhood of challenges it became a habit for me to not feel the emotions in my body because the pain was too much too handle. now that I’ve slowly started to heal I’ve become aware of the feeling in my heart and I’m able to make decisions based on how I feel in my heart, I’m also able to recognize fear and know when I must take a step forward in spite of it.

Last November I did just that, I made a heart-based decision to undertake a hiking challenge, it filled me with emotion just thinking about it, and although I did doubt for a minute whether I should do it or not, I recognized the feeling inside me and knew I had to do it. I’m half way through the challenge now and I’m glad I did it. I’ve been hiking at least once a week; it’s something I’ve enjoyed ever since a friend introduced me to it. What I did not realize was its healing affects on me, when I’m feeling depressed or just out of focus I know where to go. Mother nature has a calming effect on me, she helps bring me out of the clouds my head sometimes gets into. This has been one of the surprising benefits of having taken on the challenge.

Are you up for a challenge?  Check out this link, you can do it 🙂 Your body will thank you for it.

Leave a Reply

