Sisterhood

woemn

“Girl hate is not hating someone who happens to be a girl, it’s hating someone because we’re told that, as girls, we should hate other girls who are as awesome as or more awesome than ourselves. That there can ever only be ONE cool girl, ONE funny girl, ONE smart girl, etc., in a circle of people …  I’m close friends with a girl I used to have some serious girl hate for. Recognizing what a wonderful person she is not only made me realize how idiotic I was being before, but it really did make me feel better about myself. Sometimes we can convince ourselves that pointing out flaws in others makes us feel good, but ultimately, those moments of pleasure are fleeting. In the long run, they get you in the habit of looking for flaws in everyone, including yourself.”-Tavi Gevinson

I completed a priestess of the moon course last year, what I noticed from this group was how supportive all the women were of each other. I really felt like this was a refreshing welcoming group, compared to what I sometimes see around me-women who are competing against each other or trying to bring one another down. As women, I feel that we have the power to transform the world around us, that if we do not tolerate abuses- we will bring the bar up as to what is considered ‘acceptable’ social norms.

I watched the movie ‘The Salt of the Earth’ a couple of months ago; it is this type of unity among women that I see as necessary in order to transform a male dominated world. We can help bring balance back to mother earth, we don’t need to be competing against one another, but rather working with one another for a better world for the next generation.

Let’s learn how to stand up for one another, to lift each other out of abusive relationships, to point out things that may not be apparent to a person who is being abused. We can also set the example of what true love of one another is, of what respect and friendship looks like. Together, we are one.

Leave a Reply

