Learning, unlearning

heaven

“As kids, we spontaneously sing and dance and tell stories, and along the way, someone comes and says, ‘No. You shouldn’t be doing that.’ And we slowly begin to unlearn our passions. I think you have to hold on to those things.”- J. Michael Straczynski

The more time passes by, the more I feel like I forget what ‘home’ is. Though I’ve made spiritual progress along my journey, there are things I remember doing as I child that are not at my grasp presently. There is also the connection with my source that I established, mostly out of need, as a child that I feel has somewhat changed.

As I reflect on what could have caused these changes in my spiritual life one thing that comes to mind is practice, I no longer practice the things that I was gifted with as a child, I stopped due to fear. Another thing that has shifted my connection is the challenges that I’ve had to overcome on earth, some of which I am still healing from. It is like they have created a layer of dirt over my youthful self, my true self. Being around people a lot more has also transformed my connection. Growing up, my mother did not like being around people, so besides going to school, I was mostly isolated. I’ve learned habits from others, some good others not so good, sometimes these things just sneak up and become me without noticing them.

So how do I unclutter my soul? Learning to unlearn that which no longer serves me and remembering what home was like, who I was before all the garbage that I had to endure came piling over me like an avalanche. I take it one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

