Time for you

hug

“Love yourself first and everything else falls into line. You really have to love yourself to get anything done in this world.”-Lucille Ball

Isn’t it rather logical that if you schedule an appointment for the doctor to take care of your body that you should also schedule a day/time for your spiritual practice? Or for something that makes you feel alive and good in your own skin? As I was looking through my agenda I realized that I scheduled dancing this week, had I not scheduled it as a public event I think I would have easily canceled it and put it off for another day, however it made me realize how important it is to schedule things in for myself and stick to them.

I’ve reserved Tuesday as a day for me, my spiritual practice, and self-care. As a woman who has had the tendency to give of her time to others and not to herself this has been a positive change. Although I still get calls and emails to do things on this day I always remind myself that it’s a ‘me’ day and decline any invitation that require serving anyone but me. Taking care of me means loving myself, and it is a step closer towards a healthier self-esteem.

We must remember what the flight attendants always say, ‘Put the air mask on yourself first,’ so remember to take the time for you, because you matter!

One thought on “Time for you

Leave a Reply

